Skip to Content

Current lab members

zenglu-liZenglu Li, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator
Professor in Soybean Breeding, Genetics and Genomics
Ph.D. in Plant Breeding and Genetics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
zli@uga.edu
(706) 542-9805
https://www.linkedin.com/in/zenglu-li-35a96371/

 

roger-boermaH. Roger Boerma, Ph.D.
Emeritus Distinguished Research Professor, UGA
Executive Director, Georgia Seed Development Commission, GA
roger.boerma@gsdc.com
(706) 552-4525

 

 

dale-woodE. Dale Wood
Emeritus Research Coordinator
dwood@uga.edu
(706) 227-7954
Coordinate soybean breeding program

 

 

Brice Wilson
Research Coordinator
bwilso10@uga.edu
(706) 227-7953
Coordinate soybean breeding program

 

Graduate Students

dung-ivy-tranDung “Ivy” Tran
Ph.D. student
M.S. in Plant Breeding, Genetics, and Genomics, Univ. of Georgia
B.S. in Crop Science, Vietnam National Univ. of Agr.
dtt12136@uga.edu
(706) 542-0915

 

Ethan Menke
Ph.D. student
M.S. in Agronomy, Kansas State University
B.S. in Biology, Newman University- Wichita, Kansas
Ethan.Menke@uga.edu
(706) 542-0915

 

Brooks Arnold
M.S. student
B.A. in Biology, Columbus State University 
Brooks.Arnold@uga.edu
(706) 227-7950

 

Sam McDonald
Ph.D. student
B.S. in Plant Sciences, University of Missouri- Columbia
Samuel.McDonald@uga.edu
(706) 542-0915

 

 

Mark Miller
Ph.D. student
B.A. in Molecular and Cellular Biology, University of California- Berkeley
Mark.Miller@uga.edu
(706) 542-0915

 

 

Alexandra Ostezan
Ph.D. student
B.S. in Crop Sciences, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Alexandra.Ostezan@uga.edu
(706) 542-0915

 

 

Renan Souza
Ph.D. student
B.S. in Agronomy, Federal University of Sao Joao del Rei
M.S. in Plant Breeding and Genetics, University of Sao Paulo- ESALQ
renan@uga.edu
(706) 542-0915

 

Visiting Scholars

Dr. Wei Dong
Qufu Normal University, China
dwei@qfnu.edu.cn
(706) 542-0915

 

 

Post Docs

Jeffrey Boehm
Ph.D. in Plant Breeding and Genetics, Washington State University
jeffrey.boehm@uga.edu
(706) 542-0915

 

Research Staff

steve-finnertySteve Finnerty
Research Professional
slfinn@uga.edu
(706) 542-8712
Phenotyping for nematode resistance

 

earl-baxterEarl Baxter
Research Professional
earlb@uga.edu
(706) 227-7952

Soybean breeding

 

Brian Little
Research Professional
balittle@uga.edu
(706) 227-7950

Soybean breeding

 

gregGreg Gokalp
Research Professional
gtgokalp@uga.edu
(706) 227-7954

Soybean breeding

 

manuel1Manuel A Mendez
Research Professional
mamendez@uga.edu
(787) 430-6843

Puerto Rican nursery manager

 

Ben Averitt
Laboratory Manager II
ben.averitt@uga.edu
(706) 542-8712
Nematology lab manager

 


Tatyana Nienow

Research Professional
tnienow@uga.edu
(706) 542-0915
Soybean molecular breeding

 


Nicole Bachleda

Research Professional
M.S. in Plant Breeding, Genetics & Genomics, University of Georgia
nbachle2@uga.edu
(706) 542-0915
Soybean molecular breeding

Software Development

Ankit Joshi
Student Research Assistant
ankit.joshi25@uga.edu
(706) 542-0915

 

Undergraduate Assistants


Emmanuel Eleruja
Student Research Assistant
elerujammy@yahoo.com
(706) 227-7950

 

 


Jordan Herring
Student Research Assistant
jherr17@uga.edu
(706) 227-7950